One Big Reason You’re Not Reaching Your Goals

Do you make grand elaborate plans then forget about them? We all do it. We think of this spectacular thing we want to do, then we fail to follow through. This is what separates the “wants” from the “wills”. Setting goals isn’t useful unless you actually put in the work.

 

No. I didn’t say it would be easy, but you know that. In fact, it will be difficult and at times you’ll want to give up. This is when you pull out your little book of motivation and read it. Don’t have a motivational book? Start one. This is part of setting your SMART goals. Remember when I said it needs to be memorable? This is where that letter comes into play.

 

Memorable goals mean something to you. They need to happen for a reason, even if it is just because it will make you feel better about yourself. It makes it a whole lot easier to complete your goals if you can remember why you are trying to reach them.

 

So buy a journal, it doesn’t have to be anything fancy. It can be a $.99 composition book, notepad, whatever. It just needs to be something that you can write in and easily keep up with. Start by writing down your SMART goal and then write down why it is important to you. Be as detailed as possible.

 

As I said before, my goal is to have my first paying customer by March 1st. It is important to me because it signifies the beginning of my business. To me, it will be a grand accomplishment because being a life coach is something that I’ve always wanted to do. It will make me feel good about myself because I’ll be doing something that I love and making money doing it. Breaking into the personal development business isn’t easy, so it is a challenging goal and I love a good challenge. It will also mean that I’m one step closer to having a successful business and career that I’m proud of.

 

Do you see how I can look back at that statement and recall what I’m working towards and why? Can you see that it would make me feel better about the steps I’ve achieved up to this point? This is the reason for keeping a journal. You can write anything you want in it, but it is important that you keep up with it and you read it often.

 

Personally, I keep a journal for the duration. I write down everything that I’ve achieved and what I hope to achieve. I write down the steps I’m implementing for the week and what was the outcome. I write down everything. It helps keep me on task.

 

Memorable goals are the only kind of goals. If it doesn’t mean something to you then it isn’t worth pursuing. Keep your journal, and keep reminding yourself that you’re worth it.

 

I want to hear about your goals and why your want to achieve them! Leave me a comment and tell me what steps you’re taking toward your best life.

Leave a Reply

