Invoice Anxiety

Today, the feeling of being a newbie to freelancing all came flooding back. It washed over me like a tidal wave of anxiety. I remember sending my first invoice. It was terribly scary because you really aren’t sure what you skills are worth at that point.

In my last post, I talked about raising your rates and not undervaluing yourself or your skills. This was an idea I had just put into practice myself, so I’m right there with you. This morning, I had to bill a client that had inquired about my availability for a job paying twice what I normally charge. I didn’t even expect to be chosen, but I was and I quickly completed the task at hand. It was no easy feat and I was proud of a job well done. What I wasn’t ready for was billing the client at that much higher rate.

tumblr_n5qc30vki81spnc0yo1_500

I mulled over it for days and when I finally sent the invoice, I under-billed them. I fell right into the trap of undervaluing my own skills. I even solicited the advice from friends before and after I sent the invoice. They assured me that I was over thinking the whole situation. Afterall, they are the ones that approached me with the offer! Still, I couldn’t wrap my head around the situation. It is something I believe I will always struggle with until I get my self-worth in check.

Here is the lesson that I learned:

Your self-worth is directly equivelent to the amount of money you can potentially make.

If you are strong and unwavering in your own self confidence, you will have greater success than if you are not. The responsibility lies squarely on your own shoulders.Like I said before, if you undervalue yourself, others will as well. Something I knew was true! Hell, I just talked about it yesterday! Yet even I fall into the trap sometimes. We are all human. We all have our own strengths and weaknesses. Don’t let yours keep you from shining! Surround yourself with positive people to help build you up when you need support. That is what helped me realize I was being irrational and I just needed to rip off the bandaid. So I did, and here I am. Still living and breathing(heavily).

Have you had moments like this? Tell me about it! I need to know I’m not alone!

Save

Leave a Reply

